Managing more than one Instagram account or bored of sharing images and videos on Instagram? You can either temporarily disable or permanently delete an Instagram account. You need to sign into Instagram via web-browser as you can not deactivate Instagram account using a mobile app.
Remember, once you remove an Instagram account permanently, you will lose all photos and videos updated onto this account. So we suggest back up these galleries before you delete an Instagram account.
Steps to Delete Instagram Account Temporarily
Temporarily disabling account won’t delete your photos and videos stored on the account. Your stuff will be hidden, but not deleted. You will get it back when you re-activate your Instagram account by logging in. Sign into Instagram accounts with same username and password to activate your account again after temporary disable.
Follow the steps below to deactivate Instagram Account for a short period
- Login Instagram account from the web on your any web browser. Enter your login credentials and click ‘Log in’ button. You will reach into the Instagram home page.
- Click on ‘username’ on the top right corner of the page.
- Select ‘Edit Profile‘. And scroll to the bottom.
- Click on ‘Temporarily disable my account‘.
- And follow the on-screen instructions.
Instagram will ask ‘why are you disabling your account?‘, Provide your reason from given options. Note that you can only Deactivate Instagram account once a week.
Steps to Instagram Account Delete Permanently?
Before deleting permanently, we suggest to backup all photos and videos uploaded to your Instagram account. You can’t recover your stuff later.
If anyone came to use your username later, you can’t claim it later.
Following steps will help on deleting Instagram account permanently;
- Log in via web-browser.
Log into the Instagram account via web-browser (Either PC or mobile). You can’t delete your account using the Instagram app on mobile.
- Go to Delete Instagram account page.
- Choose from the options from the drop-down menu to the question ‘Why are you deleting your account?‘.
- Re-enter your password.
You need to provide your Instagram password to verify your identity as the real owner of the account.
- Click ‘Permanently delete my account‘ button.
Now you successfully deleted the Instagram account permanently. All data stored on your account will be removed hereafter. Those data can’t be restored in future. If you want to be back on the Instagram platform again, you must start all from the beginning. But you can’t use the same username that you delete permanently.
If you’re trying to delete Instagram photos only; go to Instagram profile, choose photos you want to remove. Click on three horizontal lines on the top-right side of the photos and tap ‘Delete’. You will no longer have access to photos that you delete it from your profile. So we suggest to backup somewhere else before removing from an Instagram account.